You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 12, 2010.

The weather had turned bad this weekend – snow, 90 km/hour winds – so since there was nothing to do outside it seemed like a good opportunity to have a marathon session to try and get those elusive Tiny Emerald Whelpling and Dark Welpling pets.

Tiny Emerald Whelpling

I headed out to the Swamp of Sorrows to try for the Tiny Emerald Whelpling pet first.  I assumed this would be the toughest to get since there is only one area (Itharus’ Cave) containing the Dreaming Whelps and Adolescent Whelps that drop the pet.

I had been out here many times for one or two hour sessions trying for this pet with no luck.  This time, I was determined to stay until I got the Tiny Emerald Whelpling to drop.

About a total of six hours later it drops.

Tiny Emerald Whelpling

Tiny Emerald Whelpling

I also got several Jade and Citrine gems, dozens of Small Flame Sacs, several Green item drops, more grey items than I care to count and enough Medium and Heavy leather from skinning to make about 100g from the Auction House.

Tiny Emerald Whelping Pet

Tiny Emerald Whelping Pet

I’ve read up on drop rates, loot tables, etc. so I don’t bother counting kills anymore.  It’s just a matter of chance and luck – each kill has a 1/1000 chance of dropping the pet.  One could kill just one or ten thousand and get it.  How many kills one has makes no difference statistically to the drop rate.

Tiny Emerald Whelpling Pet

Tiny Emerald Whelpling Pet

Dark Whelpling

Of all the four dropped Whelpling pets, this is the one I wanted the most and have spent more time trying to get.

I’ve tried both of the purported drop areas in the Badlands and Dustwallow Marsh.  Dustwallow Marsh takes longer to do a circuit because the Searing Whelps are spread quite far apart with Dragonkin patrolling the areas.

The  Badlands contains two areas of Scalding Whelps (Lethlor Ravine) separated by an area populated with Black Dragonflight Drakes.

Since the southern area only contains a few Scalding Whelps, I decided to stay in the northern section instead of running back and forth to save some time.

Not that I saved much time – about 7 hours later the Dark Whelpling finally dropped.

Dark Whelpling

Dark Whelpling

To say I was happy is an understatement!

Dark Whelpling Pet

Dark Whelpling Pet

Here I am with the “lucky” Scalding Whelp and my Dark Whelpling pet!

Dark Whelpling Pet

Dark Whelpling Pet

I never want to see the Badlands or Swamp of Sorrows again!

Daily Fishing Quests

The Outland Daily Fishing quest was the “Crocolisks in the City” again, and I received the third Bucket Pet “Snarly” as a reward.

Snarly Bucket Pet

Snarly Bucket Pet

The Dalaran Daily Fishing quest was the dreaded “Dangerously Delicious”.  This time I found the Flight point for future reference as there is a fishing spot just below with fewer elementals to worry about.

One still has to time it correctly between battles to avoid the enemy hanging around to stomp you just for fun, but I was able to quickly fish the quest items and get out with no problems.

This time, I received a great reward for the “danger” – the Strand Crawler pet!

Strand Crawler Pet

Strand Crawler Pet

Underbelly Fishing

I still had to finish the Kalu’ak Dailies for the reputation points.  I only have about 4 or 5 more days until I reach Exalted and can purchase the fishing pole and penguin pet.  I won’t be sorry to stop battling Wolvar, sharks and Kvaldir raiders!

I returned to Dalaran and went to the Underbelly to do a bit of fishing.  After about 30 minutes fishing up the usual junk, the achievement “I Smell A Giant Rat” pops up and in my bag is the Giant Sewer Rat!

Giant Sewer Rat Pet

Giant Sewer Rat Pet

Yes, it really is a giant!

So….why can I get all the dropped whelpling pets, the Giant Sewer Rat, the Strand Crawler, Bucket Pets, three Mr. Pinchys, the Magical Crawdad, the Sea Turtle and the extremely rare Hyacinth Macaw….and I still can’t get the Recipe: Delicious Chocolate Cake?

April 2010
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Companion Pet – Dancing Fox Kit

Follow for Boring WoW Stuff!

Copyright Information

© A. Lucas and Wolfgangcat, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to A. Lucas and Wolfgangcat with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.