So…what do you do when you’re husband runs off to another toon with all your money, you get a divorce, then he dies so you can’t get any money back, tenants do 17K worth of damage to your house, your “good” computer dies and then for Christmas your boss tells you they are cutting your job?

Why, you log into WoW and go fishing of course!

I fished my way through 700 fish for the “Draenor Angler” Achievement to unlock the Level 3 Fishing Shack, and got the Nat Pagle quest.

Easy enough quest that sends you out to catch an Arcane fish to show Nat back in Pandaria (yes, you have to go all the way back – hope you kept your Hearthstone to the Shrine) to “lure” (haha – pun) him back to Draenor with you.

Once you are back in Draenor, Nat is standing (and later we find out drinking) at your shack and sends you on a quest to fish up a “lunker” fish in every zone with some of his “special” bait.

This didn’t take as long as I thought it would, so after you give Nat the fish he becomes your follower.

I did this on both my Priest and Warlock, and both times “blue” Nat was upgraded to “Epic” Nat.  So I don’t know if I got lucky or if Nat is an “automatic” Epic upgrade.

Anyway, I assigned Nat to my fishing shack and he now has a “blue” question mark to turn in Lunker fish for “Nat Coins” and reputation.

I should point out that your reputation from Pandaria carries over to Nat at Draenor.

My Priest was still a Stranger so none of the Draenor rewards were “active”, but my Warlock was “Best Friends” so all the rewards show as “active” although I don’t have any Nat Coins to purchase anything yet.

Yeah, I slogged my way through Best Friends with my Warlock simply to get the Epic “Nat’s Hat” because the stupid “Weather-Beaten Fishing Hat” never – EVER – to this day – dropped from the daily fishing quests.

I think my DK is “Best Friends” too because she never got the “Weather-Beaten Fishing Hat” to drop either and has the “Nat Hat.”

But that’s not what I want to talk about.

While I was running around zones doing the fish-a-thon for the achievement, I fished up – among the usual new Awesome Fish, Grief Fish, buff hats, etc. – good old fishing poles.

Just the regular old fishing poles you get from vendors when you start your baby alts on a fishing career – with one exception.

The Big Iron Fishing Pole.

I fished up a few of these beauties and I think they are seriously under-rated.

It used to be that the only way to get one was by opening Shellfish traps by Shadowprey Village and hope you’d get lucky.

Then they stopped dropping and for a long time there was no way to get one.

Now they’re back and you can fish them up (random drop) anywhere in Draenor.

It’s the best fishing pole you can get before quest rewards and reputation fishing poles kick in – and it’s not Soulbound.  You can pass this fishing pole around to all your alts.

Look at those stats:

Big Iron Fishing Pole
Item Level 30
Two-Hand Fishing Pole
24 – 37 Damage Speed 3.00
(10.24 damage per second)
Durability 55 / 55
Equip: Fishing skill increased by 20.
Requires Level 25
Requires Fishing (100)

Did you notice that?  Fishing skill increased by 20.  It doesn’t get this good again until you can do level 50/60 quests for a fishing pole.

The only slight downside is that it requires Fishing 100 skill, but that doesn’t take too long if you’re going for level 75 fishing to do the DMF quest anyway.

Heck, even the long grind for the Mastercraft Kal’uak Fishing Pole and the Pandaria reputation Angler’s poles only give you +30 fishing skill.

So if you fish up one of these don’t rush off to vendor it right away – send it to an alt.  They’ll thank you for it if they plan to do any fishing.

