By now everyone has heard about how the NSA has purportedly been “snooping” in various games including (specifically mentioned) WoW.

And you thought all those “noobs” in LFR were just “lazy casuals…”

Real-life agents have been deployed into virtual realms, from those Orc hordes in World of Warcraft to the human avatars of Second Life.

There is a 99.999% chance they rolled Horde Orc Hunters.  I don’t even have to explain that one…

There were attempts, too, to recruit potential informants from the games’ tech-friendly users.

NSA Agent: “hey how would you like to help your country?”
WoW Player: “F U NOOB UR GOLD FARMER REPORTED FOR SCAMMING”  /ignore

If properly exploited, games could produce vast amounts of intelligence, according to the NSA document.

[2. Trade Chat]: Did someone mention [Thunderfury, Blessed Blade of the Windseeker]?
[2. Trade Chat]: LFM ICC 25 achiv run ilvl 590
[2. Trade Chat]: ur mom
[2. Trade Chat]: no ur mom
[2. Trade Chat]: wtf gold and no gear again????
[2. Trade Chat]: lolz
[2. Trade Chat]: noobz ur so dum
[2. Trade Chat]: where do I turn in this token?
[2. Trade Chat]: at ur moms house

Yes, vasts amounts of intelligence…yes indeed.

NSA Agent: “Excuse me, sir…I’d like to put in a transfer to monitor the chat at the Goldshire Inn on the Moonguard server.

Director:  “You’re the 102nd Agent to request a transfer there this week.  Is there subversive chat going on there?

NSA Agent:  “That’s one word for it…”

In Other News

I got my RaF reward for recruiting myself, and after a long, agonizing decision I picked the Zipao Tiger because it’s purple! Like me!

RaF Reward

RaF Reward

Here’s a picture of my Secret World character in her “default” outfit.

The Secret World

The Secret World

You can see why I’m not crazy about the pants, but I suppose they will do for now.

