Yes, I know I’m very late to the party but I finally got the Celestial Tournament beat.

Celestial Tournament

Celestial Tournament

After agonizing over various strats from many sources, I went with the WoWHead guide “How to Easily Beat the Celestial Tournament.”

Why did I pick this one?

Well, it gives a comprehensive list of all the pets/abilities used, states when a specific breed is required, and gives a turn-by-turn abilities use each step of the way.

It uses a few rare pets that might not be easy to get (Bonkers, Unborn Val’kyr) and the Pandaren Monk from the Blizzard Store, but gives alternatives if you’ve been unlucky with rares or don’t want to purchase a pet.

I didn’t have all the pets listed at level 25, so I cross-checked the abilities needed at Warcraft Pets and found I actually did have some pets at level 25 with the exact same abilities.

There were a few with specific abilities I didn’t have leveled up, so it took me a few days to get those pets to 25 and ready for the tournament (I’m looking at YOU, Brown Marmot!)

I also had to take a trip back to Mount Hyjal to pick up a speedy second Nordrassil Wisp.  I found a poor one with the right speed and used a stone to upgrade it to Rare.

I used the addon PetBattle Teams to set up my teams for each tamer.  If you don’t have this addon and want to battle pets, get it.  You won’t be sorry.

If this sounds like a lot of prep work, you’re right.

By Sunday I was ready to give it a shot.

It went like clockwork.  I beat them all the first attempt following the guide.  I had a few panic moments when RNG kicked in but the guide even gave suggestions as to what to do when things go south, so I was ready.

Of course, I picked Xu-Fu for my first pet.

Xu-Fu

Xu-Fu

What else would a Crazy Cat Lady pick?

In the “Better Late than Never” category my Death Noob finally went to ToES to get the legendary quest item, and finally completed Chapter 1.

Chapter 1

Chapter 1

So I finally got my fancy gem to put in my now obsolete sha-touched weapon.

Now I need to rack up another 600 Valor points for the 3000 needed for the next quest.  I know I’m way behind the curve, but I would like to try and get the cape for at least one character.  Sooner or later.

The only other character I have on the legendary journey is my Priest, and she is still 2 Sigils short so…yeah.

Unexpected Surprises

I was kicking around Disappointing Isle on my Death Noob when I got a whisper from a Paladin who asked me if I wanted to team up to kill some elites.

I thought why not so we teamed up and stomped around the Isle for a while killing stuff and chasing rares.

At one point she asked me if I had the Harmonious Porcupette yet and I said no because I’m not into Revered yet, and she traded me one.

Didn’t want any gold for it or anything else.

I was pretty grateful because the only reason I’ve been doing that miserable rep grind is to get the pet, and now I have it thanks to a stranger.

Another buddy of mine sent me a Jademist Dancer.  I bet I’ve killed 100 of those nasty things and got nothing.  She killed four and got 2 pets.

RNG.  Go figure.

If it wasn’t for nice players in this game, I wouldn’t have half the pets I do now.

