Well, my level 90 Death Noob is not quite ready for prime time tanking yet.

After a few discussions with my CRZ buddy who has a level 63 Shaman with a healing spec, I made another Death Noob on his server with the idea that he could run dungeons with me as healer while I learn to tank.

Since he’s on a PvP server – a very active PvP server – leveling up by dungeons instead of taking my chances out in the world questing will, shall we say “inspire” me to learn tanking to avoid the inevitable gank fest.

He’s on the Horde side, so I made a very lovely Blood Elf Death Noob (what else?)

Hellfire Ramparts

As soon as I got out of the starter zone and hit Orgrimmar my CRZ buddy switched to healer spec and queued us for Hellfire Ramparts.

I nervously checked “Tank” and away we went.

It actually went pretty well.

No one died, I managed to taunt a few mobs off the healer and except for a couple of slap-happy DPS we finished in record time.

I'm a Tank!

I’m a Tank!

Queued up again, same dungeon (it’s the only one I could queue for so…)

This time it was every tank’s nightmare.

One of the DPS was a Warrior in Prot spec and not one but two – count them two – Hunters.

You can guess where this is going.

The Warrior decided he was the Tank and would run ahead and pull everything.  The hunters had their pets on Growl so aggro was everywhere.

I could have just stood back and let everyone be the Tank but this was my dungeon gosh darn it and I wasn’t going to let Warriors and Hunters take away my glory.

So I would try to run faster then them and/or grab mobs off the pets and eventually they figured out I wasn’t going to give up my tanking fun too easily and would actually start waiting for me to pull.

No one died, I dinged level 60 and we got it done.

Baby Blood Elf DK Tank

Baby Blood Elf DK Tank

I’ve now got Hellfire Ramparts, Blood Furnace and Slave Pens in my random list.

I don’t quite remember Blood Furnace and Slave Pens so I think I’m going to run my level 90 Death Noob through them a few times so I know where to go before queuing with my Baby BE tank.

I know I’ve only done one dungeon twice as a Tank, but you know what?  I like it.  And the best part is I didn’t have my chat windows quite set up yet so I didn’t have the Instance chat window active.

So…if there were any complaints about my tanking, yelling or screaming well…I didn’t see it.

Skadi

I’ve been taking my level 90 Death Noob to Northrend as part of my “routine” to get her the Weather-Beaten Fishing Hat.

I’ll do the Outland/SW fishing dailies (no hat) then head to Northrend to do the daily at Dalaran then swing by Utgarde Pinnacle for my daily shot at the Blue Proto-Drake.

I’m not sure how many times I’ve done it since I haven’t really been keeping track – maybe 5 or 6?

But it doesn’t matter – the Reins of the Blue-Proto Drake dropped for me Sunday night – yay!

Reins of the Blue Proto-Drake

Reins of the Blue Proto-Drake

I wasn’t expecting it to drop this soon, so I’ll have to find another dungeon with a mount drop I can solo for something to do since that long, boring Onyxia fight is only once a week.

In the meantime I’m going to enjoy learning to tank on my Baby BE Death Noob as the Outland dungeons don’t seem too bad.

Blue Proto-Drake

Blue Proto-Drake

It’s the Northrend dungeons I’m dreading….yeah…Oculus and Forge of Souls…ugh.

