You know what I’m talking about.

The one thing in the game where you stress out about stats, racial bonuses, passives, synergy, BiS and what the heck is the optimal priority for maximum dps?

Don’t even get me started on crits.

Simply put, the Pet Battles system is an extensive mini-game for World of Warcraft. . . It’s intended to be something you do in your off-time.
Blizzard Lead Content Designer Cory Stockton
Pet Battles Q&A with Cory Stockton

“Extensive” is an understatement.

Now, when I first looked at Pet Battles in MoP I was thrilled to see all the new pets available.  I would grab anything I didn’t have regardless of “quality.”

It becomes fairly obvious early on that pets come in 4 varieties: Poor, Common, Uncommon and Rare – just like gear.

Of course, we all want the best so looking for the Rare quality of each pet becomes important if not downright obsessive.

I was happy with that because battling pets and seeing a rare as the primary or a secondary enemy adds a bit of excitement and a lot of fun.

So I began slowly replacing all my low quality pets with rares.

Then I read about Breed ID.

Not only do pets come in different qualities, now the Breed ID of each pet determines its’ stat allocations to give us BiS pets for that pet ID.  Heck, now you can find out if your pet is a male or female.

Yeah, you know where this is going.

I found Christoph Schaffhauser’s awesome site where he has done the “math” and you can pull in your entire pet collection to see what you’ve really got in the pet quality department.

Then I noticed one can download a spreadsheet of your pets and stats.

Are you kidding me?  A flipping spreadsheet with all my pet data!

One thing about spreadsheets that has stuck with me throughout my RL work career, is that if you’re plugging data into cells and not performing any calculations, you’re doing it wrong.

You don’t need a spreadsheet.  You need a database.

A lovely, beautiful database with tables, forms, queries and tons of other tools so one can do “proper” pet analyses to make all those important decisions:

  • what pet should get the Battlestone upgrade to Rare?
  • what pets need to be replaced or released?
  • who would be best teamed up with pets that can change the weather?
  • who can heal the team, and who can’t heal at all?

We could even step it up a notch with all the pet abilities and run simulations to determine optimal teams against pet tamers.

Who knows?  It might not be long before we have a Pet Battle Team Simulator.

Better get going – have to run a query to see which Magic pet would benefit the most from my one and only Magic Battlestone…

