I got my Wizard up to Level 51.  I’ve gone through Nightmare mode all the way up to Diablo.  I’ve tried soloing Diablo a couple of times with no luck.

I haven’t tried too hard though.  I don’t believe I have good enough gear to do this without help, and there is the problem.

I could backtrack a bit and farm for better gear, but all the drops I’ve been getting are ten or more levels below me.  Rare drop stats are worse than blues.

Yes, I understand this is all designed to drive one to the Auction House (and eventually the Real Money Auction House) or one could simply trade items with other players.

Unfortunately, reports of “trading scams” using the old bait-and-switch tactic is back in full force.  Even if one wanted to take a chance and trade, it’s impossible to use any chat because of the onslaught of non-stop gold sellers spam.

As soon as one logs into Diablo III, one automatically joins General chat – change that was implemented recently on purpose.  I have a few theories about this but well, they are just theories.

It will become an option at some point, but for now one gets to be spammed mercilessly until one leaves the channel.

Add in the reports of account compromises and well, it’s nastier than any pixel demons.

For the record, I don’t believe for one second that Blizzard has been “hacked” or “compromised.”  If it were true there would be millions of accounts stripped, not to mention their legal obligation to report server infiltrations.

No, I’m not going to link the Forbes article or the Cinema Blend garbage flying around as “proof” of anything, although they both are perfect examples of how gullible people believe everything they read on the “interwebz” and never check the writer’s credentials.

Go ahead – check it out yourself.  I dare you.  I double-dog dare you.

Took me about two clicks to find out the Cinema Blend “writer” has zero credentials in anything.  But I gave them the benefit of the doubt, so I checked out their Job Postings to see what qualifications are required to write for Cinema Blend.

Apparently nothing – no formal education, no publications – heck, you don’t even have to be a High School graduate.  All you need is writing experience but that isn’t defined either.  So…if you have experience writing a shopping list I suppose that’s good enough to write for Cinema Blend.

You don’t even have to know anything about Video Games to write about Video Games.  Checking sources or citations? Don’t make me laugh.

This is all from their own website.  I can’t even make up stuff this bad.

Of course, they link the Forbes article.  All we need is someone on Forbes to link the Cinema Blend stuff and the Circle of Stupidity will be complete.

But I digress.

So where does this all leave Diablo III?  It might be game over for me.

Don’t get me wrong – I love the game.  It’s a lot of fun running around smashing demons.  I actually enjoy finding a really tough pack of blue monsters and figuring out what gear/spells/tactics I need to destroy them.

I love the story, the dialogue and especially my Templar follower.

As long as I can have fun with the game in complete single-player mode without chats, public games, trading, the auction house or the RMAH, I’ll keep playing.

If I can’t do Inferno or even Hell mode without using the AH or RMAH, so be it – I’ll stick to the lower modes.

If not, then it just isn’t worth the dealing with all the extra, excessive garbage to simply play a game.

