Not the most exciting World Holiday (interpret that to mean not enough “presents”) but with the addition of the Lunar Lantern well, it was enough to motivate me to gather up some Coins of Ancestry and finish off the Achievements.

50 Coins of Ancestry

50 Coins of Ancestry

Apparently any unfinished Achievements were reset back to zero, so off to get the ones I didn’t complete last year.

Elders of Northrend

Elders of Northrend

Elders of Cataclysm

Elders of Cataclysm

Elders of the Alliance

Elders of the Alliance

Elders of the Horde

Elders of the Horde

Now all I have left to do is the Elders of Dungeons. Most are easy at level 85, but I’m not very familiar with some of them.

I got lost in Maraudon and ran around in circles like a stupid before finding the Elder, and the Northrend dungeons are a nightmare to solo – yes, even on Normal!

It took me about 30 minutes to get Skadi off the darn dragon with all the respawning mobs and running around to find harpoons.

I’ve only got four left – Nexus, Gundrak, Drak’Tharon Keep and Halls of Stone.  Heck, I don’t even know where the entrances are for any of them except The Nexus, and I don’t think I ever completed a Halls of Stone.

I thought I might be able to finish them all this year for the Violet Proto Drake until I realized I won’t be able to get all the pets I need from Children’s Week.

I could put off the Dungeons until next year, but with the “rumors” about squishing stats it’s possible the days of soloing dungeons might be over, so…I should try to finish them up this year.

I better start looking at some guides, find some maps, bite the bullet and find those dungeon Elders!

Dusting Off An Old Character

I’ve pretty much maxed out my character limit on my “favorite” server, so I’ve been taking a hard look at what I actually will play, who has a good level on professions I need, and who can be deleted to prepare for MoP.

I really hate to delete the ones I’ve been leveling even if I don’t play them very much.  So far I’ve got:

Paladin at 42
Druid at 49
Death Noob at 68
Mage at 70
Hunter at 80
Shaman at 85
Priest at 85 (my main)

Round that out with two bankers and one name placeholder, and I’m maxed out at 10 characters.

All have a mish-mash of gathering/crafting professions at various levels with a lot of repeats so now is as good a time as any to take a “scientific” approach to get rid of duplicates and level up something useful.

I made up a nice spreadsheet to figure out the best way to maximize the crafting/gathering, what professions I could dump and replace and who had the gathering skills to support leveling up a new craft for another character taking into account any bonus based on racial perks.

I might have to race change one or two (I really don’t need 4 or 5 Worgens) but if that means I will actually play them again, then it’s worth the cost.

I finally had a “plan” that seemed to work until I got to my poor Hunter.  My oldest and very “first” character – yes, of course it is a Night Elf Hunter.

When I started playing my Priest my poor Hunter got left in the dust – stuck in Dalaran, neglected and forgotten.  I would log on with her once in a while but never did much – heck, she still has mana potions in her bags.

It was also the character I leveled up with my soon-to-be-ex-husband which always brought back sad memories so I just left her alone.

But life goes on, so I dusted her off, bought her a few gear upgrades from the Auction House, made a trip to the Barber Shop for a new hair style, fixed up her specs and went to Mount Hyjal for some questing.

I died a lot.

I had a great time even though I had no idea what I was doing.  I had forgotten how much fun it was to play a Hunter, so I think I’ll start reading up on Hunter stuff and at least get her to level 85.   I probably won’t make her a “serious” character, but using a BM spec just to tame some rare pets will be enough.

I might even try a dungeon or two once I figure out shot priorities and remember I have traps…

