I was so busy with my rant (I promise no more rants) I completely forgot that when my Troll Druid used the Orgrimmar portal to the Blasted Lands…

Stood in the Fire

Stood in the Fire

Everything around the Dark Portal was in flames and it took me a second to realize what it was and fly into the fire for the Achievement.

Looked around for Deathwing but didn’t see him…guess I’ll have to wait for the 4.3 patch.

I was determined to get to Level 70 through LFD because I needed the shoulders from Old Hillsbrad Foothills to complete my Druid transmog set, and I had a couple of level 58 gear pieces I wanted to upgrade before heading out to Northrend.

So…I made myself a nice cup of soothing tea in anticipation of another rage-fest and hit the LFD button.

Yay!  Old Hillsbrad Foothills!  This time it was a good run but my shoulders didn’t drop.  On the bright side, I got enough experience to squeak over into level 69 and whoo hoo!  Talent point in Tree Form!

Yes, things were looking up!

LFD again and…

Utgarde Keep.  I didn’t notice that the LFD had been set to Random Lich King Dungeon and the other drop down option was Random Heroic Burning Crusade.  I could still pick a specific dungeon but I was already there so…

I only had vague memories of this dungeon but I did remember that at the final boss one must hide behind the pillars at some point.

Healing it was fine except after the pillars there were a couple of times everyone’s health dropped at once – Wild Growth for the win!  And yes, I forgot I had Tree Form and could have tried it out at that point.

Utgarde Keep

Utgarde Keep

Groups seemed to be a lot less rage-prone and a few were actually pleasant. It certainly makes a huge difference getting through content so I decided to keep riding the “happy” wave as long as possible.

I checked my “Specific Dungeon” list to see what I might get as a random and there was still quite a long list of TBC “green” and “yellow” dungeons, with Utgarde Keep and The Nexus as “orange” dungeons.

So LFD again and…

Utgarde Keep
Utgarde Keep
Utgarde Keep
Utgarde Keep
Utgarde Keep
Utgarde Keep

ad naseum…

Each random group I got seemed to get better and faster as we rolled along so by the time we were at the last boss hardly anyone was taking damage and would sometimes kill the boss before those big damage hits.

No upgrades for me in Utgarde Keep – not any that dropped but I’ll have to check to see if there are intellect leather pieces at all in there.  A few agility leather pieces dropped but I just rolled “greed” for my off-spec as when they dropped there was often a feral druid in the group who probably needed them more than I did.

I’m getting a little desperate for a weapon upgrade – couldn’t even find something suitable at the AH but I might find one as a quest reward somewhere.

The last dungeon I did for the night (Utgarde Keep) had a DK tank (yes, you were right – they do follow one into Northrend!) so I’m thinking yes!  Probably the “typical” dual-wielding DK tank in Frost presence who takes a lot of damage so I might have a chance to use my Tree Form!

Alas, it was not to be – this DK tank (surprising enough from my Priest’s server and a member of the biggest Horde guild there) asked me if it was okay to AoE pull so we did a “speed” run up to the last boss in record time.

Before he pulled the last boss he asked me not to heal him because he wanted to see how long he could last.

Fine with me, I could sit back and enjoy the show.

I didn’t have to heal him at all and after the pillar phase the boss was killed in seconds.  Yup, DKs definitely seem “overpowered.”

But I did it – I got to Level 70!

Level 70

Level 70

I raced over to the Druid trainer to learn my “grown up” spell Tranquility and then realized I didn’t even have half the gold I needed for Artisan Riding and my new flight form.

Oh well.

I had to go back to Outland to chase down a few recipes to level up my cooking for Northrend and perhaps farm some ore/herbs to sell to raise more gold.

While I was there I remembered I could now start the Outland Cooking/Fishing dailies so I picked those up and in my first “Crate of Meat”….

Recipe: Delicious Chocolate Cake

Recipe: Delicious Chocolate Cake

And in my first “Bag of Fishing Treasures”…

Chuck's Bucket

Chuck's Bucket

Running all those dungeons is definitely helping me learn my healing spells although I am still over-healing quite a bit.

I’m also still not quite certain how to use Lifebloom correctly – what I’ve read usually suggests keeping 3 stacks on the tank (and refresh with something like Nourish) and it’s a HoT but does it replace another HoT or used in conjunction with it?

Chuck

Chuck

Looks like I’ve got a lot more reading to do, but with the holiday weekend coming up I just might try to make the push to level 80….

