or How I Stood in the Lava

My guild asked me to fill in a dps slot on raid night – I was expecting one of the entry-level raids geared towards us rookies.

But when I got the summons…there I was in Firelands!

It was a good thing I spent every VP I had on a new chest piece, then a small fortune in gold for the required gems and enchants, and more gold for a re-forging festival until I tweaked my Hit rating to 16.94%.

Snappy New Dress

Snappy New Dress

Can you believe that I actually capped my VPs for the week by Friday?  That’s running the max regular Heroics and max Trolls – yes, Trolls!

I’m still a little uncertain about the ZG fights – especially the last boss since I’ve only actually completed it three times – but I’m getting there.

I also picked up a one-handed mace from ZA – Amani Scepter of Rites – and the off-hand Globe of Moonlight.  I guess I was as ready as I could be for a Firelands boss!

Boss of the Day

Lord Rhyolith – an excessively huge boss that really gets in the way of everything making it difficult to see where one is going and where the bad stuff is dropping.

Staring down Lord Rhyolith

Staring down Lord Rhyolith

More than a few times my GTFO addon was beeping like crazy but all I could see was Lord Rhyolith’s big butt.  Not the prettiest thing one would want filling up one’s screen.

We didn’t get him down (really close once!) but I did get a couple of screen shots of my finer moments.

Dead

Dead

I still hold the title for being the first to die within two seconds of the first pull – there should be an Achievement for this.

Dead again

Dead again

I was having so much fun I didn’t even care we didn’t get the boss down or I was racking up a big repair bill or there wasn’t any “purple lootz” – what better way to spend a few hours tackling a new exciting challenge?

And I got to Stand in the Lava!  How can one put a gold price on that? (ha! ha!)

Sometimes it’s not about the rewards, it’s about the journey.

So thanks everyone -I had a great time and I know you’ll get that Big Butt Boss down soon!

Searing Scorchling

I was quite surprised to see the Scorched Stone in my Zen’Vorka’s Cache of Disappointments.  Now that I have the pet I can take it easy and work on the Achievements.

Searing Scorchling

Searing Scorchling

Now I just need to find something to do until I can get more VPs – fishing anyone?

