Kalu’ak Fishing Derby

First I have to give a huge “Congratulations” to our guild GM for winning the Kalu’ak Fishing Derby!

Personally, I think winning the fishing contest is the toughest of all the “Salty” title requirements.

Most of the criteria is just random as one could sit fishing for Mr. Pinchy as long as one likes, but the derby is just once a week and very competitive – not only does one have to be lucky and catch the shark, one has to be fast to turn it in as well!

So congrats again, and enjoy that prize ring – well earned!

Horde Adventures

I’ve been neglecting my Alliance toons to level up my Blood Elf Priest – not that there is any hurry because she’s all alone on the Horde side (and oh boy, do I miss my Alliance guild when on the Horde side) – but it’s refreshing to see different zones and work on quests I haven’t done a thousand times before with Alliance.

I’m getting around Orgrimmar much easier now.  I know where my trainers are located, where to find the daily cooking/fishing quests and the flight points.

Oh, the flight points!  Since I’ve never played on the Horde side before, I have no idea where the flight points are or even where the quest hubs are located.

More than once I’ve gone into a zone, forgot I was Horde and ran into an Alliance town (Night Elves have no sense of humor.)

I’ve been picking up quests from the Hero’s Board to get some idea of where to go next but more often than not I just don’t know how to get there, or I’ve out-leveled the zone once I arrive.

I pick up flight points where I can and for some reason I end up with a few that are not connected to any other points so travel time is long and boring.

I know there are flight points out there, I just need to find them!

Scraping Up Gold

Travel is slow enough without flight points, but when I’m gathering ore and herbs along the way it can take forever to get from one quest hub to another.

I need to gather as much as I can to sell at the Auction House.  I finally got a dual spec (Shadow and Holy) and leveled up enough to open a Prime, Major and Minor glyph for each spec but I’ve been running around “glyphless” because the cost for the glyphs I need is astronomical!

Dual Talent Specialization

Dual Talent Specialization

I couldn’t even afford a Minor Levitate glyph.  I was able to purchase the mats from the Auction House at a somewhat reasonable cost and find a scribe to make the glyph so at least I can Levitate without spending more gold on reagents.

The Shadow Prime and Major glyphs are still beyond my means – either the mats weren’t available at the Auction House or cost beyond the gold I had – never mind trying to get glyphs for my Holy spec!  Holy will have to wait for while…

Fishing Rewards

Fortunately, the Orgrimmar daily fishing quest has been rewarding some needed items.

Weather-Beaten Journal

Weather-Beaten Journal

Recipe: Captain Rumsey's Lager

Recipe: Captain Rumsey's Lager

and best of all….

Weather-Beaten Fishing Hat

Weather-Beaten Fishing Hat

A Bird Dilemma

I’ve been enjoying the new “revamped” quests introduced in Cataclysm and actually questing in zones I’ve previously avoided.

Quest Achievements

Quest Achievements

I was working my way through southern Stranglethorn Vale and left Booty Bay to kill some Bloodsail pirates for a quest.

Third pirate I killed…the Hyacinth Macaw dropped.

Parrot Cage (Hyacinth Macaw)

Parrot Cage (Hyacinth Macaw)

Oddly enough, I had stopped at the Parrot vendor and decided that although I wanted a parrot pet, I really couldn’t afford to purchase one right now.

I know, I know….I should have ran over to the Auction House, posted the Hyacinth Macaw and sold it for a bunch of gold to purchase glyphs and other stuff I needed.

But I didn’t.

I wasn’t even farming for it and there it was – it must be fate!

So I learned it and it’s all mine.

Hyacinth Macaw

Hyacinth Macaw

After all, if those pirates were kind enough to give it to me, wouldn’t it be rude to sell it?

Now, if only I could figure out where to quest next…

