A lot of things have changed in Cataclysm – guess I should start reading up on the notes because this was a rather big surprise.

In the mad rush to get my Shaman to level 70, I also had to level up her cooking as she was only up to 228 and I needed at least 275.

I followed the WoW Cooking Guide 1-525 and headed out to Felwood to pick up the recipes and farm for some Giant Eggs and Bear Flanks.

When I reached around 250 Cooking with the Monster Omelete recipe, I thought well, if I’m killing bears for Bear Flanks, I might as well pick up the Winterspring Frostsaber quests as I still had painful memories of all the Bear Flanks that dropped instead of the Shardtooth Meat.

So back I went to visit my old friend, Rivern Frostwind.

You know what?  He didn’t recognize me at all.  I thought he might remember me from gathering up meat for him with first my Hunter and then my Priest, but no.

I had to start back at the beginning with Frostsaber Provisions and a Neutral Reputation.

No problem, been there, done that – so off I went to gather up quest meat and Bear Flanks for cooking.

First few bears all dropped the quest meat.  Found the Chillwinds, and they all dropped the quest meat.

I asked in guild chat if there was a change in the drop rate and sure enough, the quest meat now drops 100%.

To make the grind even easier, the bears and chillwinds are located in the same area close to Rivern Frostwind and respawn very quickly.

If you have a flying skill then travel isn’t much of an issue.  I timed myself and it took me about 4 minutes to pick up the quest, fly to the area, get the quest meat and turn in the quest.

Four minutes.  I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry.

It took no time at all to gain enough reputation to open the next quest, Winterfall Intrusion.

Unfortunately, the changes to this area were not much better than the last time I did this quest pre-Cataclysm.

Although the respawn rates appear to be a little faster, it is still heavily camped with Ursas and Shamans sharing spawns.  I believe the numbers have been tweaked a bit as now one only has to kill 5 of each.

It took just as long to complete this quest now as it did the last time, so after one turn-in I dropped it and only worked on the Frostsaber Provisions quest.

I should also note that I was getting 275 reputation points per turn-in instead of the 250 from the Guild Perk “Mr. Popularity” – thank you, Guild!

Four minutes and 275 reputation per turn-in.  I don’t know if the Feat of Strength is still given for obtaining a Winterspring Frostsaber, but I’m happy they are still in game.

Smoked Desert Dumplings

I picked up enough Bear Flanks gathering quest meat to get my cooking skill up to 285, so off I went to Silithus to do the quest chain for the Smoked Desert Dumplings recipe.

The worms that drop the Sandworm Meat are few and far between with a rather low drop rate, so it took a bit of flying around to gather enough for the quest.

I had killed about 7 or 8 worms and only had two Sandworm Meat when the next worm I killled dropped no meat but an Oozing Bag.

I thought to myself “wouldn’t it be funny if….”, opened the bag and there was a Disgusting Oozeling.

Oozing Bag

Oozing Bag

I didn’t even know these would drop from the Dredge Crushers and Dredge Strikers.

Disgusting Oozeling

Disgusting Oozeling

I really should start reading up on Cataclysm comments and notes….

