Mekgineer’s Chopper

I had picked up this schematic on my Hunter a while ago after she reached Exalted with the Alliance Vanguard, and recently with my Priest.

However, because this mount is a very expensive gold investment I never bothered to make one for myself.

My Warrior friend has wanted one almost since the first day he started playing WoW so after a few months of farming for mats and scraping up gold, he asked me to make it for him.

The mats were not to difficult to get – his Warrior is a Miner/Blacksmith and my Hunter is an Skinner/Engineer, so between the two of us it was easy to get most of the items:

  • 12 Titansteel Bars
  • 40 Handful of Cobalt Bolts
  • 2 Arctic Fur

The biggest expense is the “required” parts that must be purchased from Roxi Ramrocket:

  • 1 Salvaged Iron Golem Parts (3000 gold)
  • 8 Goblin Machined Pistons (1000 gold each)
  • 1 Elementium-plated Exhaust Pipe (1500 gold)

These can only be purchased by an Engineer who has learned the schematic – if you don’t have it, Roxi won’t even show you the dialogue to buy them.

Just to make it more fun, the Elementium-plated Exhaust Pipe is a time-limited item but everytime I was in K3 and checked Roxi for the parts she always had one.

So…just for the parts it will run 12500 gold.  If you would have to purchase the rest of the mats from the Auction House and/or add a value to the time it takes to farm them, well it’s no wonder the Choppers sell for about 14000 gold on my server.

The nice feature of the chopper is that it’s one of the few 2-person mounts in the game – very handy as we often queue for instances together so I get a “free ride” when one can use a mount!

Mekgineer's Chopper

Mekgineer’s Chopper

Marticar

I was running around Zangarmarsh picking up a few cooking recipes my Priest needed for the Outland Gourmet Achievement when I spotted Marticar.

Marticar

Marticar

It’s quite easy to see a giant pink Marsh Strider!

Marticar

Marticar

It dropped two Luminescent Globes and the Striderhide Cloak of the Eagle.  I already had the Bog Lurker for the Medium Rare Achievement, so Marticar gave me one more towards the Bloody Rare Achievement – 18 left to go!

Champion of the Alliance

I finished up the Argent Tournament cities with Champion of Gnomeregan and received the Champion of the Alliance Achievement, but since I’m not quite exalted yet with Gnomeregan Exiles or Ironforge, I’ll have to grind out those reputations before getting the rest of the dailies.

Champion of the Alliance

Champion of the Alliance

I suppose I could pick the Writs as a reward instead of the Champion’s Purse, but at the moment I would much rather have the gold, so back to picking up all the little quests that give reputation for Ironforge and Gnomeregan Exiles – I might even have to run the Gnomeregan instance a few times – ugh!

I decided to skip the Tournament dailies last night so I could have a marathon session to finish up the reputation with the Wintersaber Trainers and get to Exalted.

Winterspring Frostsaber

It was almost impossible to do the Winterfall Intrusion quest as every time I checked the village everything was already dead or hadn’t respawned yet – it’s been a very busy place!

Fortunately no one seemed to bother with the Giants for the Rampaging Giants quests, so between this quest and the Frostsaber Provisions quest I was able to reach Exalted with about 5 or 6 runs.

Winterspring Frostsaber Achievement

Winterspring Frostsaber Achievement

And, of course, finally get my Priest her Frostsaber mount!

Winterspring Frostsaber

Winterspring Frostsaber

Snarly

Crocolisks in the City turned up again and this time I got the third Bucket Pet I needed – Snarly.

Snarly

Snarly

I’m still hoping to get the Weather-Beaten Fishing Hat soon, but so far no luck.

Weekly Raids and a “Duh” Moment

I’ve been taking my Priest on the weekly raids – who doesn’t want five extra Emblems of Frost and Emblems of Triumph when you’re trying to gear up?

Last week I got into a 10-man raid to defeat Patchwerk in Naxxramas and although I got the Make Quick Werk of Him Achievement, I had forgotten to pick up the quest first, forgot to ask someone to share it, and missed out on all the Emblems.  Definitely a “bang your head on the keyboard” moment!

This week was Flame Leviathan in a 25-man raid – I received the Shutout and Unbroken Achievements for it –  and I made absolutely sure that I had the quest.  I won’t make that mistake again!

