Northern Exposure Achievement

My Priest was working on the quest Leave Our Mark for her Knights of the Ebon Blade reputation, when I noticed a giant elite val’kyr coming up behind me.

Of course, the WoW “rule” is any named elite probably drops good loot, so I killed it and popped up the Northern Exposure Achievement.

Hildana Deathstealer and Northern Exposure Achievement

Hildana Deathstealer and Northern Exposure Achievement

The elite turned out to be the rare Hildana Deathstealer, and she dropped an Abandoned Adventurer’s Satchel (containing about 20 gold, Crystallized Air, a few Frostweave Cloth) and a Val’kyr Vestments of the Bandit.

Val'kyr Vestments of the Bandit

Val'kyr Vestments of the Bandit

Such is the luck of the Random Number Generator – I get the caster drop on my hunter, and a hunter drop on my priest!

My hunter doesn’t need it anymore, so off to the Auction House it goes!

I finished up the quests and it was enough to get me Exalted with the Knights of the Ebon Blade.

Knights of the Ebon Blade

Knights of the Ebon Blade

Heroic: Utgarde Pinnacle

Queued my Priest up for a random to get the daily Emblems of Frost and snagged Heroic: Utgarde Pinnacle (thank goodness it wasn’t The Oculus!)

I had already run this a few times in normal mode so I was familiar with the fights and didn’t anticipate any problems with heroic.

Everyone zones in, buffs up, tank runs off and away we go.

I’m not sure what happened next (I was watching my healing grid) but suddenly everyone’s health starts dropping quickly, all my shields are down so I start throwing out my “emergency” heals.

Unfortunately, a few mobs got away from the tank and I was basically one-shotted (got to love that cloth armor!), died and everyone else went down.

While I was running back from the graveyard, the tank and warrior dps start arguing which quickly escalated into a name-calling swearing match.

I wasn’t paying that much attention to the party chat but apparently the tank had decided to try for The Incredible Hulk achievement without bothering to mention it to the rest of the group so no one was prepared for the pull.

Then, of course, as silly little boys tend to do when fighting – they whipped out their Recounts and started flapping numbers at each other.

I suggested they put their numbers back in their pants, act professional and finish the run, but by this time Baby Boy Drama was in full production so the tank decided he wasn’t going to tank anymore – just sit there and pout.

The Mage whispered me that she was initiating a vote-kick for the tank, it passed and we queued for another tank.

The second tank zones in and we finish the run without any problems or wipes.

Ironically, I received a whole bunch of Achievements with the second tank:

  • Heroic: Utgarde Pinnacle
  • Lodi Dodi We Love the Skadi
  • My Girl Loves to Skadi All The Time
  • Completed step Heroic: King Ymiron of achievement Champion of the Frozen Wastes

Morale of the story?  Ask the group if you want to do an achievement, don’t be a Baby Boy Drama Queen and nobody cares about Recount if your Social Intelligence Score is below average.

