Reins of the Green Proto-Drake

Yes, it finally happened – opened up my “Cracked Egg” and there it was – the Reins of the Green-Proto Drake!

Reins of the Green Proto-Drake

Reins of the Green Proto-Drake

Looking back through my posts, I see I purchased my first Mysterious Egg May 3, 2010 – about 17 weeks before my Hunter got her Drake.

Green Proto-Drake

Green Proto-Drake

The good news is I don’t have to purchase any more eggs!  The bad news?  I get to do it all over again with my Priest.

I had forgotten that my Priest only had to be Revered to purchase the eggs so I’ve missed a few weeks thinking I had to be Exalted.

So….back to the Oracles to purchase an egg and prepare for more Aged Yolk!

Another Tiny Emerald Whelpling

Gearing up my Priest is not only time-consuming (running those silly instances over and over for emblems) but expensive with gems, enchants, etc., etc.

I didn’t give my Priest a gathering skill so off went my Hunter (on her new Green Proto-Drake!) to skin a few stacks of leather to sell at the Auction House.

If I’m going out to skin I usually like to find a spot that would also have a nice drop as an added “bonus” to the time spent grubbing for gold, so back I went to the Swamp of Sorrows as my Priest needed a Tiny Emerald Whelping.

Unlike the 6 or 7 hour “marathon” I had the last time getting the whelpling for my Hunter, I was only there a couple of hours when the Tiny Emerald Whelpling dropped.

Tiny Emerald Whelpling

Tiny Emerald Whelpling

Such is the luck of the Random Number Generator – when you really want one it takes forever, when you’re just grubbing – there it is!

Tiny Emerald Whelpling Pet

Tiny Emerald Whelpling Pet

Other than the tons of Mr. Pinchys and rare recipes I’ve been getting with my Priest, she hasn’t been too lucky with drops lately.

The Crocolisks in the City quest has come up about 4 times and half those times I didn’t get a bucket pet.  Not a big deal since what I really want (need) is the Weather-Beaten Fishing Hat!

Oh, how I miss that hat on my Priest!  Considering how much fishing she’s been doing trying to get the Sea Turtle mount and the Giant Sewer Rat (no luck at all) it would be so much handier to carry around the hat than remembering to stock up on Glow Worms and Sharpened Fish Hooks.

Healing Heroics

I haven’t had much luck with gear drops in instances either (most Epic quality drops so far have been armor or a weapon I can’t use) except one – Woven Bracae Leggings from the Heroic Halls of Lightening.

I can’t sing and I can’t dance
but I am wearing Epic Pants!

As happy as I was to get the pants, I looked up and found a few tailored pieces that would tide me over, so I gathered up the materials and had a snappy new Merlin’s Robe and Bejeweled Wizard’s Bracers crafted.

I had collected a few Emblems of Triumph and purchased the Brimstone Igniter wand.  I know, I know – should have waited and purchased a piece of gear, but I just couldn’t stand looking at that icky greenie wand anymore and this one will last me for a while.

It’s almost painful trying to upgrade “crappy” gear for “not-so-crappy” gear.  There are a few choice pieces on the Auction House but when it runs into 3000 – 7000 gold range, well, “not-so-crappy” starts to look good!

On the bright side, I have noticed a significant difference healing heroics with the few upgrades I have so far as I don’t run out of mana as quickly.

I’m still way under the curve as far as stats go, but I’m getting there!

Naxxramas (25)

Naxxramas was the weekly raid and I was talked into joining a PuG as a healer.  It actually wasn’t too bad once I figured out how to “Abolish Disease” on a lot of people very quickly!

I did get part of the Achievement for The Plague Quarter (25 Player) – Noth the Plaguebringer, but after that just about everyone left so there weren’t enough people left to try anything else.

Heroic: The Oculus

I had never run The Oculus before either in normal or heroic mode, so when it turned up I informed the group it was my first run.

I’ve read about the fights and seen a video or two so I had some idea about what to expect.  It went fairly well up until the final boss – we wiped four times.

I was on the green healing drake but I couldn’t keep anyone alive – not even myself.  I would get killed almost immediately and a wipe would quickly follow.

We tried a few different tactics and switched a few roles around, but it just didn’t happen.  Now I know why many so many people dislike the Oculus – if I get it again I just might pass for now.

Whoever thought trying to kill a final boss while riding around on drakes would be “fun” should be whapped with a rolled-up newspaper – I’d rather do those nasty Commander quests than this one!

Oh well.

I never said I was any good with vehicles!

