Argent Tournament

That’s right – I’m not only a Champion of Darnassus, but also an Exalted Champion of Darnassus.

I beat the last two Horde Valiants for the Lance A Lot Achievement, earned the last two seals I needed to turn in for The Valiant’s Charge and easily whopped the tar out of the Argent Champion for The Valiant’s Challenge.

Exalted Champion of Darnassus

Exalted Champion of Darnassus

I picked up the A Champion Rises quest and turned it in to get my Argent Squire.

A Champion Rises

A Champion Rises

I’ve only got the one flag of course, but it’s nice reward to show that I am, indeed a Champion.

Argent Squire with Darnassus Flag

Argent Squire with Darnassus Flag

I picked up the new set of dailies and completed Taking Battle to the Enemy and Among the Champions.

I was on a winning streak so I decided to tackle the The Black Knight of Westfall?, completed the quest chain and stomped the Black Knight into the ground.

Defeating the Black Knight

Defeating the Black Knight

The Black Knight was actually easier to defeat than the Argent Champion and gave the It’s Just A Flesh Wound Achievement.

It's Just A Flesh Wound Achievement

It's Just A Flesh Wound Achievement

Quest chains to become a Valiant for the other Alliance cities opened, so I thought I would start with the Gnomeregan Exiles as it is the only Alliance faction I haven’t reached Exalted with yet (Champion’s Writs can be turned in for reputation points.)

Of course, At The Enemy’s Gate was one of the first quests and I picked up Battle Before The Citadel so I could do both at the same time.

I had previously managed to complete At The Enemy’s Gate a few times so I assumed adding in three more Commanders wouldn’t be too great of a challenge.  I grabbed my lance and went off to destroy the Lich King’s minions.

It was a slaughter.

I was killed every time.  I tried every trick I knew, every strategy I read, every trinket and buff I had with no luck.

After about eight attempts and killing only one Commander, one Lieutenant and racking up a 102 gold repair bill, I decided to quit for the day.  It just wasn’t worth it for 26 gold and a couple of seals.

Sometimes when you’re dealt a bad hand you just have to fold and walk away from the table.

Maybe better gear would help, more buffs – I don’t know.

I am a Champion.  And a Loser.

