Engineering Skills For Fun and (Little) Profit

Everyone who has a profession in WoW is painfully aware that leveling it up can be an expensive little adventure, and Engineering is no exception.

I had been sitting at about 351 for a while and thought I better spend some time (and gold) to level it up to 450 so I can start making a few of the more useful Engineering items.

I don’t have Mining, but my Warrior friend is a Blacksmith/Miner and “donated” a lot of bars to help me along.

Even with his generous help, I still had to purchase materials and spent about 1200 gold at the Auction House to get my Engineering up to 450 (not including the gold cost to learn schematics from the Trainer.)

I’ve been following the WoW Engineering Guide as it seems to be the most cost-efficient method of leveling from 1-450.

Most of the leveling products are items used in the next set of leveling schematics so there isn’t a lot of materials wasted.  The only sad part is when it costs about 3 gold to make one item that will only sell for 1 gold at the Auction House, and you have to make 20 of them to get those next few Engineering points.

The best leveling items were stacks of Mammoth Cutter bullets and Saronite Razorhead arrows – a Hunter can’t have too many arrows and bullets – at least until Cataclysm is released and we won’t need to purchase ammo anymore.

Goblin Engineering

I also finally made a decision on an Engineering specialization and picked Goblin.  No particular reason other than the Goblin Dimensional Ripper goes to Everlook, and if I’m grinding out reputation for the Wintersaber Trainers, this might save a bit of travel time, even if the Ripper will often set you on fire or drop you above the ground.

First time I used it I arrived in a burning blaze (and it will kill you if you don’t start healing up immediately) and the second time it changed me into an Ogre/Kobald.

Dimensional Ripper - Everlook

Dimensional Ripper - Everlook

I made a Wormhole Generator: Northrend for my very last Engineering skill point.  This will transport the engineer to a location in Borean Tundra, Howling Fjord, Storm Peaks, Sholazer Basin or Icecrown with the usual caveat that maybe you’ll get there in one piece, maybe you won’t.

The tooltip recommends packing a parachute and medical supplies.  It might also (rarely) present the option of selecting “The Underground” as a destination – a place in the Dalaran sewers where one can purchase all three of the Dragonling schematics.

Firing up the Wormhole Generator: Northrend

Firing up the Wormhole Generator: Northrend

I haven’t actually tried it yet.  I did fire it up but it timed out (one minute) before I picked a destination.  I don’t think I really want to try it until I put that Engineering Parachute enchant on my cloak. . . just as a precaution.

Wormhole Generator: Northrend

Wormhole Generator: Northrend

As the Dimensional Ripper and Wormhole Generator both have a 4 hour cool down, they might be helpful for a quick trip somewhere once, but other than that – like most Engineering toys – not very useful.

The best part about leveling up Engineering?  Access to the Auction House via the Steam Powered Auctioneers at the “Like Clockwork” shop in Dalaran.

Exalted with Alliance Factions

I needed to work on reaching Exalted with Stormwind and Ironforge so I could purchase their mounts as I was close to getting the “Leading the Cavalry” Achievement for the Albino Drake reward.

So…back I went to pick up all the low level quests I missed the first time around.  Stormwind wasn’t too difficult, just a lot of “kill x of y to get z” type of bug hunts.

Ironforge took much longer as a lot of the quests required traveling around and I even had to do another run through Gnomeregan for a couple of quests.  Those quests gave about 500 reputation points each so it was worth the time.

One recurrent theme I noticed with the Dwarves – a lot of quests revolved around 1) getting stuff for alcohol; 2) transporting alcohol.  At one point I was moving so much alcohol I expected the “WoW FBI” to come looking for me.

I finally reached Exalted and purchased all the horse and ram mounts (including the Black Stallion at Menethil Harbor) but I was still a few short for the Achievement, so back I went to Netherwing Ledge and purchased the rest of the Netherwing Drakes (effectively wiping out what little gold I had left after leveling up Engineering.)

That gave me the 50 mounts I needed for the Albino Drake!

Albino Drake

Albino Drake

Argent Tournament

Another reputation I need to level up to Exalted is for the Alliance Vanguard to get the Schematic: Mekgineer’s Chopper.  I thought I’d start with the Argent Tournament dailies as I hoped they wouldn’t be as bad as any daily that requires me to kill drakes while riding a drake.

Oh all right – I’ll just admit that anything requiring me to ride a vehicle is a recipe for disaster.  A couple of painful examples that spring to mind are Thrusting Hodir’s Spear and Aces High!

I have yet to successfully complete either one of those quests.

I’m sure you can imagine how excited I was when The Sum is Greater than the Parts quest came up.  I was expecting another “vehicle failure” disaster but I surprised myself by actually completing it the first time.

This boosted my confidence as I thought “Well, for the Argent Tournament all I have to do is ride a horse and wave a lance around – how hard could that be?”

While the Range and Charge targets were fairly simple (keep in mind these are the “training” quests), the Melee training dummy would knock me off the horse – every time.

I suppose if a training dummy can get the best of me, I’m not going to be much of a Champion for my faction. . .

Stamp Out Gold Spammers!

At least several times a WoW session I get “whispers” from gold scammers trying to lure me to their keylogging sites.

Usually, they try to tempt the new, greedy or lazy players with promises of “cheap gold” or a “special pet/mount” hoping some idiot will go to their site.

The past few days, I’ve been getting “whispers” that accuse me of – well, I’m not sure since the translating software grammar is so bad – and threaten to close my account.

Gold Spammers -- link removed for obvious reasons

Gold Spammers - link removed for obvious reasons

Suspend away, I say!  The irony of threatening to suspend my account would be laughable if it wasn’t such a serious issue.

For all the lazy, greedy idiots who violate Blizzard’s TOU by buying gold, power leveling services, etc. that only make it miserable for the rest of us, I won’t be crying for you when Blizzard bans your account.

For those of you who are not idiots, right-click on the name, select “Report Spam” and never, ever click on a link.

Just for the Record

Recipe: Delicious Chocolate Cake – 0
Recipe: Skullfish Soup – 0
Jeweled Fishing Pole – 0
Bone Fishing Pole – 0
Reins of the White Polar Bear – 0
Reins of the Green Proto-Drake – 0

What I Got Instead…

Stinky Cheese – 11
Snowballs – 3
Large Hoof – 1
Sharpened Fish Hooks – 2
Worthless Glass – 1
Unusual Compass – 1 again
Mysterious Egg – Tickbird Hatchling

