Murlocs.

I hate those guys.

Remember those early days when your toon was about level 12 and first wandered down Darkshore?  Remember the beached turtle you needed for a quest, but those nasty Murlocs would keep killing you over and over again?

And that was just the beginning.  Every time you needed something on a beach guess who would be there to stomp you into the ground?

Murlocs.

I was following some fishing pools in the Borean Tundra and found the Winterfin Retreat full of – you guessed it – Murlocs.

There is probably a starting quest I missed somewhere, but I picked up the quest from King Mrgl-Mrgl that eventually lead to the quest “Oh Noes, the Tadpoles!

This quest requires you to rescue baby Murlocs which is counter-intuitive to everything you’ve learned about Murlocs as there is normally only one option – kill them all.

Fight your instincts and go ahead and save the babies – you won’t be sorry.

Oh Noes, the Tadpoles!

Oh Noes, the Tadpoles!

Make sure you stay around long enough to pick up the “Surrender…Not!” quest – just to wear the Murloc suit!

Surrender...Not!

Surrender...Not!

And don’t forget to save those Winterfin Clams….Ahlurglgr the Clam Vendor has a few interesting items you might want to purchase.

Mystery of the Infinite, Redux

The follow-up quest of where “Future You” arrives to help defend the hourglass.  This time, you help “Past You” accompanied by some humorous dialogue.

Mystery of the Infinite, Redux

Mystery of the Infinite, Redux

Apparently, “Past You” forgot that hunters don’t melee and I seemed to have lost my pet although I’m sure I had it the first time around.

I guess that’s why it’s a mystery.

. . . and Not-So-Fun Northrend Quests

I started the quest chain for the Sons of Hodir reputation (Wrath 101: The Sons of Hodir).  Who am I kidding?  I just wanted to open up the daily quest for a chance at the White Polar Bear mount.

The quests were easy enough to do until I hit The Drakkensryd.  Now, although riding a proto-drake can be fun, success depends upon defeating the rider.

Not a big deal until you remember hunters are not a melee class and what little abilities we have will get a further nerf in Cataclysm.

So it takes a little longer to defeat the rider – not a problem, I manage to defeat the required 10.

The big problem is harpooning the Column Ornament to dismount and complete the quest.

If nothing else, this quest revealed how poor I am at twitch games.  By the time I would click the Column Ornament and then click the harpoon I would get an “Out of Range” message.   Every time.

After wasting a bunch of time trying to snag an ornament, I gave up, dismounted and took the hit – a very long drop.

Now that I’ve completed the quest I found a macro in the comments section at WoWHead that probably would have snagged the ornament the first time and saved me a big repair bill.

Oh well.

At least it isn’t a daily…

Just for the Record

Recipe: Delicious Chocolate Cake – 0
Recipe: Skullfish Soup – 0
Jeweled Fishing Pole – 0
Bone Fishing Pole – 0
Reins of the White Polar Bear – 0
Reins of the Green Proto-Drake – 0

Tomorrow’s always a new day…