Worg Pup and Smolderweb Hatchling Pets

My only reason for soloing LBRS was to get the pets (quests: Kibler’s Exotic Pets and En-Ay-Es-Tee-Why), not the Achievement so once I completed the quests I just got out of there as fast as I could.

The first time I tried to solo this instance, I died right at the start so I decided to back up and punt.  I found this wonderful Guide to using Stealth to solo Kibler’s Exotic Pets by Dianius that presents a clear route to getting the Worg pug with extremely helpful screenshots.

Of course, Hunters do not have stealth but do have Feign Death, and a Night Elf has the racial ability Shadowmeld (only if you’re not moving so not much use.)

I kept the Guide open and whenever I cleared an area and had a “safe” spot I’d alt-Tab out to check the guide and get the next step.

Basically, whenever the Guide stated “Stealth/Sneak past…” would mean “Kill everything as fast as possible” as there is no way around this if you can’t stealth.

Gear and Equipment

I have “Greenie” quest gear with perhaps a blue item or two – no Epics except my Mastercraft Kalu’ak Fishing Pole that of course, I didn’t need.

The important thing is on this attempt I didn’t die once (although I expected to die several times).  Great gear and weapons would make this a lot easier and faster, but if you don’t have the gear it can still be done.  Patience is more valuable than gear score.

I brought along 40 Heavy Frostweave Bandages, about 10 Health and Mana pots and my usual compliment of Pickled Fangtooth food.

At the end I had only used about 5 bandages, 2 health pots and no mana pots.  I always had enough opportunity to switch into Aspect of the Viper when needed.

Getting to the Instance

This probably goes without saying but I’ll mention it anyway – make sure you have picked up both the quests from Kibler!  He can be found in a cave East of Blackrock Mountain (Flame Crest in Burning Steppes.)  You must be Friendly with the Goblins to get the quests.

One thing I have always found annoying with instance guides is that they generally start inside the instance without any hint as to how to get there, so I will break with tradition so someone else doesn’t waste time running around looking for it like I did.

  1. Enter Blackrock Mountain and go to the left.
  2. Follow the path until you see a rock with a chain (it is quite obvious you can climb the rock to reach the chain)
  3. Jump on the chain, but do not follow the chain up to the center.  Turn to face the wall, then walk UP the short length of the chain to the end and jump down onto the little rock path
  4. Turn to the right and you will see a large rock/obstruction.  You can go around this on the left side and keep following the path until you get to a balcony.  Note:  It is quite dark and difficult to see.
  5. There is a small gap between the path and balcony – jump onto the balcony and the instance should be right behind you.

Okay, I’ll admit this was probably the toughest part for me.  First, I went down the chain to the tomb and wasted a lot of time running around in circles.  Next, it took me about 4 tries to make the balcony jump (I’m lousy at jumping.)

Enter the instance and you’re ready to start.

The Instance

There is no point repeating the guide as I would strongly recommend reading it over a few times and studying the images if you’ve never entered the instance.

I’ll just refer to the benchmarks and note what I did because I couldn’t stealth through it.

First of all, I found it almost impossible to pull one Orc at a time anywhere in the instance.  Hit one and it will bring all it’s friends along to stomp you into the ground.

Second, there are many places moving through the instance where your back is literally against the wall so there is no room to Disengage or even get into range.

Third, as a Hunter, my best friends were Volley and Explosive Trap.  I didn’t bother with Freezing Trap because my intention was to kill everything and just slowing them down didn’t stop them from running towards me – better to try to knock their health down fast if in melee range.

Fourth, before sending in the pet I would start a heal on it and keep a close eye on it’s health bar.  Dead pet = dead Hunter could be next!

First Room – Roamer and Patrol/Down the Ramp – pick the closest Orc and send in the pet.  All the other Orcs in the room will come to play.  It never took very long for them to notice me, so Explosive Trap and Volley away!  I also made a point to take out any roamer guards along the way so I wouldn’t have to deal with them later.

Misdirection on the pet is helpful if it’s health is not too low.

Doorway and Passage – instead of waiting for the roamers to leave, I would wait for them to show up and kill them.  To get through the doorway, I had to kill all the Orcs and wolves.  This was probably the hardest part because according to Jame’s Lower Blackrock Spire Guide the Warlock should be killed first (if you are interested in doing other quests and the Achievement you might want to read this guide.)  This was one of those “back against the wall” moments.

Rock Platforms and the Jump – once through the doorway, on the right side are the platforms you need to jump down to get to the lower level.  It’s possible the pet can make the jump with you, but it’s equally possible the pet will “path” to the lower level and bring a lot of angry mobs with it.  I didn’t want to test the pathing theory so I dismissed the pet and called it back once at the lower level.

Corridor and Orc City – no way around this except to kill everything.  I had to use a Feign Death here and keep the pet heal up.  Around this area to the left (the “purple” area) are a few more Orcs.  There is enough room to “sneak” past them so killing is optional.

Spider Ramp – now the fun begins!  Lots of spiders scurrying around with Mother Smolderweb herself at the top of the ramp.  The little spiders were easy to kill with Volley, and here is where you can start collecting eggs for the En-Ay-Es-Tee-Why quest.  Mother Smolderweb went down fairly easy but there are not enough egg sacks in this area to get all 15 eggs.  It is also possible that opening an egg sack will spawn a few spiders instead of eggs, so I would lay down a trap just in case.

Girders and Second Spider Area – walk to the end of the girder and past the cross point you will see another room with more spiders.  Kill them all, then collect the rest of the eggs and go through the doorway.

Ramp up to Ogres – this was another tough spot.  At the top of the ramp are about 6 or 7 Ogres (2 are around the corner hidden from view.)  I was able to pull one roamer down the ramp but the rest needed to be killed as a group.  At the top, turn left and you will see a doorway at the end of the corridor.

Scorpions and Scarabs – between you and doorway are a few scorpions and scarabs running around.  I’m not sure what happened, but after I killed the 2 Ogres around the corner I auto-shot one of the scorpions that brought a whole bunch of scorpions and scarabs!  Again, Volley was my best friend.

Patrol at the Door – before going through the door, wait until a patrol enters the corridor and kill them.  Go through the door and turn right.  You will see a group of Orcs at the end of the corridor, but wait at the doorway again because another patrol will come through – kill them.

Worg Pup

The room to the left of the Orc group is the second goal – the Worg pup.  I went about halfway down the corridor before pulling the Orc group towards me as I didn’t want to attract the attention of the pups and Halycon.

Sneak over close to the left side of the entrance and capture a Worg pup (select the closest pup then right-click the quest item cage.)  Kill Halycon and the rest of the pups if they attack (most likely), and if you kill Halycon her mate Gizrul the Slavener will come up behind you so be prepared!

The Rewards

Exit the instance, then return to Kibler to turn in the quests and get your pets!

Smolderweb Carrier and Worg Carrier

Smolderweb Carrier and Worg Carrier

I particularly like the Worg Pup because it is one of the very few dog-like pets in the game and it will alternate black and brown when summoned.

Black Worg Pup

Black Worg Pup

Brown Worg Pup

Brown Worg Pup

Even the Smolderweb Hatchling is pretty!

Smolderweb Hatchling

Smolderweb Hatchling

This gave me the last two pets I need for the Lil’ Game Hunter Achievement – and my Little Fawn pet.

Little Fawn Achievement Reward

Little Fawn Achievement Reward

It took me about 45 minutes to go through the instance and get the pets.  I only had to take a break once because my real dogs needed attention, and Real Life pets always trump game pets!

