Mechanical Yeti

I ran around gathering mats (and purchasing a few from the Auction House) to power-level up my Engineering, and when I reached about 256 I went back to Everlook and sure enough, the NPC had the exclamation mark for the “A Yeti of Your Own” quest and I “learned” the Mechanical Yeti!

That was the easy part – the difficult part was more running around finding the materials to make it.

Here is a breakdown of what is needed:

1 x Cured Rugged Hide
1 x Rugged Hide, 1 x Refined Deeprock Salt
2 x Globe of Water
1 x Gold Power Core
1 Gold Bar
4 x Thorium Widget
12 x Thorium Bar, 4 x Runecloth
2 x Truesilver Transformer
4 x Truesilver Bar, 4 x Elemental Earth, 2 x Elemental Air

I had the Truesilver and Thorium bars, Runecloth, Rugged Hide and one Globe of Water.

After doing a bit of research, it appeared the most efficient method of obtaining the Globe of Water, Elemental Earth and Elemental Air was simply to farm them from the appropriate Elementals.

So off to Felwood to find the Toxic Horrors for the Globe of Water and Arathi Highlands for the Rumbling Exile (Elemental Earth) and the Thundering Exile (Elemental Air).

The Globe of Water and Elemental Earth didn’t take very long to drop but the Thundering Exiles dropped Thundering Charms more than anything, so the two Elemental Airs took much longer to drop.

I had to find a Leatherworker to make the Cured Rugged Hide (that’s what I get for dropping Leatherworking for Engineering!) but fortunately a guild member with the skill kindly made it for me and declined my offer to pay (I was also able to pass along all the Deeprock Salt dropped by the Rumbling Exiles.)

I didn’t have a Gold Bar to make the Gold Power Core so I was able to purchase a stack of 5 from the Auction House for a few silver.

So after about half a day’s work I was ready to make my Tranquil Mechanical Yeti.

Tranquil Mechanical Yeti

Tranquil Mechanical Yeti

Notice the vendor Sell Price of the Tranquil Mechanical Yeti – 12s 50c.  Now I don’t know what I’d sell it for (I’ve seen it at about 100g on my server at the Auction House) but it sure wouldn’t be a few silver!

Also note the Lovely Blue Dress I finally received on the last day of the Love is in the Air Event.

Finally, I had my Tranquil Mechanical Yeti Pet.

Tranquil Mechanical Yeti Pet

Tranquil Mechanical Yeti Pet

Definitely worth the time, effort and gold!

Dark and Emerald Whelplings
After spending too many hours trying for the Emerald Whelpling and Dark Whelpling pets I’ve given up on those for a while.

These are purportedly the two most difficult to get as even though the drop rate is the same as for the other Whelplings, there are fewer of them to drop it.

At least the Scalding Whelps dropped green items more times than the Dragonkin – at least a few more.  I got a several nice (although low level) equipment/weapon drops, one lockbox and several Aquamarines.

I don’t know what is in the Steel Lockbox (probably more Aquamarines) since I haven’t found a Rogue to lockpick it yet, but I see that Engineers can make explosives that function similar to lockpicking that will open some boxes so it will be nice not to be dependent on finding a Rogue every time I need a box opened.

The green items sold quickly at the Auction House and essentially paid back the gold I had spent leveling up Engineering and the Tranquil Mechanical Yeti material purchases.

Although I never had either Whelpling pet drop, at least it wasn’t a total waste of time.

Horde Pets

A few more Horde pets were at the Auction House this weekend so I picked up the Crimson Snake, Black Kingsnake and the Brown Prairie Dog.

Crimson Snake

Crimson Snake

Black Kingsnake

Black Kingsnake

Brown Prairie Dog

Brown Prairie Dog

This brings my total pets to 32/50 for the “Shop Smart, Shop Pet…Smart” Achievement.

No sign of the Schematic: Mechanical Squirrel yet, but I have seen a few Mechanical Squirrel Boxes at the Auction House so it might be more efficient to purchase one than farm for the schematic…

10 lb Mud Snapper

I was cleaning up my bank slots to free up more room and came across this 10 Pound Mud Snapper I had caught quite awhile ago.

10 Pound Mud Snapper

10 Pound Mud Snapper

10 Pound Mud Snapper Equipped

10 Pound Mud Snapper Equipped

Nothing like wielding a grumpy-looking fish!

