Toothy’s Bucket

No, today’s post is definitely not an April Fools joke!

The “Crocolisks in the City” Daily Fishing Quest finally popped up so I took the portal back to Stormwind City to catch the Baby Crocolisk quest item and claim my Bag of Fishing Treasures.

Inside was Toothy’s Bucket and a few miscellaneous junk items I don’t even remember.

Toothy's Bucket

Toothy's Bucket

I’ve been waiting for this quest to turn up since I started the Outland Daily Fishing Quests so it was a nice surprise to get a Bucket pet on the first try!

Toothy Pet

Toothy Pet

I had read somewhere that the drop rates for this pet had been increased but I still feel lucky getting it as my Warrior friend also did the quest and just got a few fish hooks and junk.

Toothy Pet

Toothy Pet

A perfect little companion pet for questing around the swamps!

The Elusive Sea Turtle

I headed back to Stormwind and took a griffin flight to Menethil Harbor to fish up the last Schooner Wreckage Pool I need for The Scavenger Achievement and catch the boat to the Howling Fjord for some questing.

After finishing a few quests, I decided to try fishing for the Dark Herring in the Fangtooth Herring Schools for The One That Didn’t Get Away Achievement.

There were quite a few pools spawned around the lake next to Utgarde Keep so I just fished a circuit as there were few mobs around and it was fairly quiet.

Unlike fishing for Old Ironjaw and getting a ton of almost worthless Raw Longjaw Mud Snappers, the Fangtooth Herring Schools contain Fangtooth Herrings, Pygmy Suckerfish, Crystallized Water and Reinforced Crates as the most common catches.

The Pygmy Suckerfish are a good catch as they are used by Alchemists and sell fairly quickly at the Auction House.  I’ve been fishing a few times up there and always manage to make a bit of gold from the catches which makes the time investment a little profitable.

I had fished up about 120 of them (along with Fangtooth Herrings and about 10 Reinforced Crates) when I fished up the Sea Turtle and popped up the Turtles All The Way Down Achievement!

Sea Turtle

Sea Turtle

To say I was surprised is an understatement!

Sea Turtle Mount

Sea Turtle Mount

It’s really not very fast on land and moves a little faster in the water but who cares?  I rode that Sea Turtle all the way back to Valgarde, all over Shattrath City and even between the Bank and Auction House at Stormwind!

Sea Turtle Mount

Sea Turtle Mount

And of course, it looks great with my new Toothy pet and the Magical Crawdad!

Sea Turtle and Toothy

Sea Turtle and Toothy

For those who are counting catches before getting a Sea Turtle – I didn’t keep a count of catches but I can make a “guesstimate” of about 230 Pygmy Suckerfish/Fangtooth Herrings (often both would be in one catch), 23 Crystalized Water and 17 Reinforced Crates in about a total of 5 hours of fishing over 3 or 4 days.

Sea Turtle and Magical Crawdad

Sea Turtle and Magical Crawdad

Old Ironjaw

I don’t even want to think about how many hours I’ve spent fishing for Old Ironjaw or how many Raw Longjaw Mud Snappers I’ve fished up – but I finally caught it and got the Old Ironjaw Achievement!

Old Ironjaw

Old Ironjaw

I don’t know if I’m more happy that I caught it or if I’m more happy I don’t have to sit in that cavern anymore!

Old Ironjaw Equipped

Old Ironjaw Equipped

I’m assuming that there has been a serious change in drop rates since the last patch as I couldn’t even begin to guess what the odds would be of fishing up the Sea Turtle, Old Ironjaw and receiving a Bucket Pet in the same night, but I’m not going to complain!

Just for the record, I picked the Barrel of Fish for the Daily Cooking Quest and only received a couple of fish and some junk – no sign of the Recipe: Delicious Chocolate Cake yet but I think Toothy, the Sea Turtle and Old Ironjaw are great “consolation” prizes!

Update:  For some reason I look much better today . . .

Armory April 1

Armory April 1

